Introducing… Me and My 7 Things

I’d like to not completely blame the beginnings of my blog on getting tagged as part of 7 Things, but sadly, it’s a large part of what finally got me to set this up. The other part has to do with the fact that for the past 9 or so months I have worked at the Mozilla Corporation as a member of its public relations team. Given that, and the word ‘public’ in my title, I figure its about time to start communicating with everyone about my contributions to Mozilla and the exciting world of PR.

Those things considered, this post is way overdue. Other members of the marketing team were nice enough to spare a few minutes out of their day to help me get this started, and for that I’d like to say thanks.

Okay, now on to the juicy stuff. My 7 things:

Ground rules:
1. Link to your original tagger(s) and list these rules in your post.
2. Share seven facts about yourself in the post.
3. Tag seven people at the end of your post by leaving their names and the links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they’ve been tagged.

7 things you may (or may not) know about me:

1. I have a strange and (so-far) life-long obsession with carnivores – particularly big cats and sharks. Ever since I was little I’ve been a sponge for everything having to do with these amazing creatures.  My pink canopy bed was covered in stuffed animal cheetahs, lions, panthers, hammerheads and great whites. Jaws was my favorite movie at the age of five. It hasn’t stopped. Well, okay, the stuffed animals for the MOST part have stopped, but they’ve been replaced by my real, live, terrorizing beast of a black house cat – Shiraz. I scour the Internet for documented shark attacks every day (2008 was a good year for those Pacific Coast sharks BTW).  I hope to go shark diving soon.

SharkSwarm_0001G_JS-DH.jpg

2. In keeping with the animal theme – I used to show sheep. In fact, I won quite a few trophies. Growing up in rural Northern New Jersey, there were a lot of farms. And not much else to do other than play around on those farms. So, I joined the local 4-H, threw on white collared shirt, cowgirl jeans, and showed off those sheep.

sheep1

3. I played the alto sax for 12 years. I was a band geek from 4th grade until college, and was also breaking out into Lisa Simpson-style solos in jazz band. I played the piano for many years as well, and recently have been learning the mandolin. If anyone knows any good teachers in the Bay Area please let me know.

4. Salt. Is my other obsession. I put it on everything. If you put my favorite meal in front on me and it’s not salty enough, I’d rather just go hungry. It annoys me to go to fancy restaurants that think their food “doesn’t need” salt, and therefore don’t keep in on the table. You ALWAYS need salt! I carry around sea salt in the glove compartment of my car in case of emergencies – thank you Will 😉

salt

5. I hate tall buildings and flying. It’s odd, as I’ve been skiing since I was 2 and it’s rare a chairlift freaks me out. I climb all kinds of mountains in my spare time, and that doesn’t bother me. It’s something about the ground under my feet that comforts me. Man-made buildings? No way. I considered it a big accomplishment for me to sleep overnight in the 47th floor of a high-rise in New York for the recent Fashion Your Firefox launch – with only minor anxiety. It’s something I’m working on.

6. My favorite color is green. It makes me happy.

7. I was a busy little kid. Again, there is not much to do in farm country when you’re growing up (see above). I used to show horses – dressage and hunter style. I danced ballet for 10 years. I was a cheerleader – for one day when i was five for the pee-wee football team. As soon as I saw the outfit, I ran home and told my Mom my  cheerleading career was over.

7 People: David Rolnitzky, Sean Alamares, Mary Colvig, Laura Mesa, Jared Finck, Amie Tyrrel and Alix Franquet

5 Responses to “Introducing… Me and My 7 Things”


  1. 1 Tara January 23, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    Congrats on getting your blog rolled out 🙂 and what a fun post to started it with. Looking forward to more weeks in the nee!

  2. 2 Jared January 25, 2009 at 7:47 am

    So,

    I need a definition of why I was named in your 7 things, and what that means for me. But loving the blog and even I learned things about you. 😉 looking forward to future posts.

    Jared

  3. 3 Noah February 6, 2009 at 2:31 am

    Very insightful. We need some more material though. Tell those Keebler elves to get back in the treehouse.

    NBL


  1. 1 7 Things at Life @ Mozilla Trackback on January 24, 2009 at 4:57 am

Leave a Reply

